Planning and Environment Act 1987

LATROBE PLANNING SCHEME

Notice of the preparation of an amendment

Amendment C126latr

The Latrobe City Council has prepared Amendment C126latr to the Latrobe Planning Scheme.

The Amendment applies to approximately 850 hectares of land within the Toongabbie Township Boundary defined on the Toongabbie Structure Plan. It is bounded by Harris Lane, Guyatts Road, Antons Lane, Traralgon-Maffra Road, Afflecks Road, Hill Street and Gippsland Plains Rail Trail.

The Amendment implements the findings of the Toongabbie Structure Plan report, background reports and the recommendations from the West Gippsland Catchment Management Authority 2016 Flood Study for Toongabbie into the Latrobe Planning Scheme.

The Amendment proposes to amend Clause 11.01-1L (Local Areas) and amend Clause 12.01-1L (Protection of Biodiversity) to include the Toongabbie Structure Plan, insert key strategies and policy documents for Toongabbie; amend Clause 16.01-1L (Housing supply) to include the amended Toongabbie Housing Framework Plan; update the title of Schedule 4 to Clause 32.08 General Residential Zone from 'District Town' to 'District and Small Town'; insert a new Schedule 5 to Clause 32.09 Neighbourhood Residential Zone; and update the background reports listed in the schedule to Clause 72.08.

The Amendment also proposes to make a number of associated rezonings to the Toongabbie township: rezone residential land from Neighbourhood Residential Zone Schedule 4 to Neighbourhood Residential Zone Schedule 5; rezone land at 52 Ries Street (CA 1A Section A Toongabbie), 49-57 Heywood Street (CA 1B Section A Toongabbie), 23-33 Heywood Street (L 2 PS 330744), 21 Heywood Street (L1 PS 330744), 81 Main Street (L1 PS 711191), 79 Main Street ((L2 PS 711191), and 77 Main Street (CA 2 Section 29 Toongabbie) from Neighbourhood Residential Zone – Schedule 4 to Low Density Residential Zone; rezone King Street Toongabbie (CA 2 Section 3A Toongabbie and CA 4 Section 3A Toongabbie) from split zoned Farming Zone – Schedule 1 and Neighbourhood Residential Zone – Schedule 4 to Low Density Residential Zone; rezone 19-29 Hower Street (CA 11 Section 9 Toongabbie) and 9-17 Hower Street (CA 5 Section 14 Toongabbie) from Farming Zone – Schedule 1 to Low Density Residential Zone; correct the split zoning at 15-25 Victoria Street from Public Use Zone – Schedule 2 and Neighbourhood Residential Zone – Schedule 4 to Public Use Zone – Schedule 2; rezone land at 15 Cowen Street (only L1 LP 116911), 17 Cowen Street (L2 LP 116911), 11 Victoria Street (CA 6 Section 17 Toongabbie), 12 Victoria Street (CA 6 Section 16 Toongabbie), 8 Victoria Street (CA 4 Section 16 Toongabbie), 6 Victoria Street (L 1 PS 423649), 4 Victoria Street (L 2 PS 423649), 2 Victoria Street (CA 10 Section 16 Toongabbie) and 1-5 Goodwin Street (L3 PS 423649) from Neighbourhood Residential Zone - Schedule 4 to General Residential Zone -Schedule 4; and rezone Main Street Toongabbie (CA 85A Toongabbie), Traralgon-Maffra Road (CA 9A Section A Toongabbie), Traralgon-Maffra Road (CA 32C Toongabbie), Russells Road (CA 5A Section 3A Toongabbie), Russells Road (CA 5 Section 3A Toongabbie), Humphrey Road (CA 2004 Toongabbie) and Hower Street (CA 2005, CA 2006 Toongabbie) from Farming Zone - Schedule 1 to Public Conservation and Resource Zone (PCRZ).

The Amendment updates the Planning Scheme Zone Map Nos. 6, 7, 8, 9 in accordance with the abovementioned rezonings.

The amendment also implements the recommendations of the Floodplain Mapping for Toongabbie Township (West Gippsland Catchment Management Authority 2016). The Amendments proposes to amend Planning Scheme Overlay Map Nos. 05lsio-fo, 06lsio-fo, 07lsio-fo, 08lsio-fo, 09lsio-fo, 10lsio-fo to update the Land Subject to Inundation Overlay, and introduce the Floodway Overlay to areas identified within the Floodplain Mapping for Toongabbie Township.

You may inspect the amendment, any documents that support the amendment and the explanatory report about the amendment, free of charge, at the Latrobe City Council website at https://www.latrobe.vic.gov.au/HaveYourSay and https://www.latrobe.vic.gov.au/HaveYourSay and https://www.latrobe.vic.gov.au/Property/Development/Planning_Scheme_Amendments/Curr ent Planning Scheme Amendments; and during office hours (inspection of documents may be subject to COVID-19 restrictions and requirements), at the following locations:

- Corporate Headquarters, 141 Commercial Road, Morwell VIC 3840;
- Traralgon Service Centre, 34-38 Kay Street, Traralgon VIC 3844;
- Moe Service Centre, 1-29 George Street, Moe VIC 3825;
- Churchill Service Hub, 9-11 Philip Parade, Churchill VIC 3842; and
- at the Department of Environment, Land, Water and Planning website: <u>www.delwp.vic.gov.au/public-inspection</u>.

Any person who may be affected by the amendment may make a submission to the planning authority about the amendment. Submissions must be made in writing giving the submitter's name and contact address, clearly stating the grounds on which the amendment is supported or opposed and indicating what changes (if any) the submitter wishes to make.

Name and contact details of submitters are required for council to consider submissions and to notify such persons of the opportunity to attend council meetings and any public hearing held to consider submissions. The closing date for submissions is 6 August 2021. A submission must be sent to the Latrobe City Council, Strategic Planning, PO Box 264, Morwell, VIC, 3840 or Latrobe@latrobe.vic.gov.au - Attention: Strategic Planning

The planning authority must make a copy of every submission available at its office for any person to inspect free of charge for two months after the amendment comes into operation or lapses.

STEVEN PIASENTE Chief Executive Officer